The Faire proudly announces the names of the 2017 Scholarship Winners!  Each year, the Faire awards 10 scholarships to students attending Hanover schools.  Scholarships are presented at each of the county’s high schools to a student planning to major in journalism, in memory of J. Malcolm Pace, III (Jay).  Jay was one of the founding members of The Faire and editor/publisher of The Herald-Progress that continues to be Ashland’s hometown paper.  The scholarship winners are:

  • Atlee:  Margaret Claire Lewis
  • Hanover: Madeline Wheeler
  • Lee-Davis: Ryan Brown
  • Patrick Henry: Hannah Elizabeth Harman

Another scholarship awarded at each of the county’s high schools is given in member of Gladys Yourtee (Tafi) to a student planning to major in one of the performing arts.  After moving from New York, where Tafi performed on Broadway, she continued her acting career in local theater groups, and was also a founding member of The Faire.  The scholarship winners are:

  • Atlee:  Isaac Randall Nunn
  • Lee-Davis:  Michael “Preston” Peters
  • Patrick Henry:  Peyton Jacob Gemmell

The Faire continues to award a scholarship to a student attending The Hanover Center for Trades and Technology in memory of Norman Bugge (Norm).  Norm worked for Verizon, and volunteered for many organizations with his building and electrical skills.  The winner of this scholarship is:  Sarah Hoffman. 

Also, a scholarship is given in memory of Richard Gillis (Dick) to a student at Randolph-Macon College majoring in political science.  Dick attended R-MC and served as Ashland’s Mayor for 20 years.  While he was Mayor he initiated Ashland’s title as the “Center of the Universe.”  The recipient is Jacob Stech.