The Jay Pace Scholarship:

Haley Davis-Martin – Atlee High School
Emily Jane Williams – Hanover High School
Jordan Howard – Lee Davis High School
Bailey Herbert – Patrick Henry High School

“Jay’s Kids”, staff members of the Herald-Progress that Jay menotred, joined with the Ashland Strawberry Faire to raise the amount of the scholarships given in memory of Jay Pace.  The scholarships are awarded at each of the county’s hight schools to a stduent planning to major in journalism.  Jay was one of the founding members of The Faire and editor/publisher of The Herald-Progress that continues to be Ashland’s hometown paper.

The Tafi Yourtee Scholarship:

Madison Shifflett – Atlee High School
David Wesley Bogaev – Hanover High School
Grant Paylor – Lee-Davis High School
Noah Peterson – Patrick Henry High School

This scholarship is awarded at each of the country’s high schools is given in memory of Tafi Yourtee to a student planning to major in one of the performing arts. After moving from New York, where Tafi performed on Broadway, she continued her acting career in local theater groups.

The Norman Bugge Scholarship:
Ryan Sale – Hanover Center for Trades and Technology

In honor of Norman Bugge, a scholarship is awarded to a student attending Hanover Building and Trade School. Norm worked for the telephone company that is now known as Verizon. In his spare time as a volunteer he was instrumental in getting the Faire’s stage built and the electrical panel wired among many other things.

The Dick Gillis Scholarship:

Allison Carpenter- Randolph-Macon College

in memory of Dick Gillis, a scholarship is awarded to a student at Randolph-Macon College majoring in political science. Dick attended R-MC and served as Ashland’s mayor for 20 years. While he was mayor he initiated Ashland’s title as the “center of the universe.”